Mazda CX-3 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the push-button start. In the winter I will often start up my car to warm it up and go back inside the house. Would I have to leave my fob in the car to do this? What happens if I start the car and walk away with the fob in my hand?

·
Registered
54 Posts
Once you start the car it will continue to run regardless of where the fob is located. You will hear a series of warning beeps as you walk away, but the car will continue to run.

I would never leave a car running unattended due to theft concerns. Note, your insurance would not likely cover theft under these circumstances. Perhaps you should look at a remote start device for your warm-ups. At least with those they are supposed to stop the engine when you try to drive away.

·
Registered
516 Posts
Dont let the car fool you with a false sense of security, there is no security lockout with the keyfob/ignition once the car is turned on. This was primarily the reason why I bought an aftermarket remote starter. Originally I was under the impression the car would turn off if someone theoretically tried to steal it while the keyfob was away and the car was running. I disproved this when I left my keyfob home and drove around while my friend followed me. Needless to say it was pretty eye opening given that for the first 3 months of owner I would turn the car on and run inside leaving it running while it warmed up in the winter not realizing that anyone could basically drive off with it at anypoint since you cant lock doors unless you do so with physical key.