2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 08-23-2018, 06:54 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Smile Newbie here from Delaware

Hi,
My sister owns a 2017 CX-3, she's in Philadelphia.
She loved the feel of her torque-heavy VW Jetta (2003) but finds the CX-3 frustrating in terms of engine response.
It seems to be a combination of automatic trans and engine management software because even the pseudo-manual operation leaves her wanting.

I am here to see if there is a way to "chip" this engine in the U.S. .... what options are out there, see if anybody has tried them, what levels of success.

Thanks!
HukkFinn
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 08-23-2018, 07:42 PM
Super Moderator

Location: Chicago, IL, USA, North America, Earth, Sol System, Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, Milkyway, Universe
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Garage
There aren't any/many go-fast bits for the CX-3. Econo-crossovers don't have a big tuner presence yet (I expect this to change as sedans and hatchbacks continue to decline) and the CX-3 is a small player in the lineup of a small player.

Which Jetta did she have? If it was a 1.8T, chip tuning worked really well because they could alter the amount of boost from the turbo. Not much to be gained from tuning an NA engine beyond raising the redline, tweaking AFRs, and moving timing a bit. I think Orange Virus did a tune for us but I only know of one person that has it (search this board for orange virus).

If her Jetta was a chipped turbo, it's going to be tough because those things were awesome (I had a 1999 Passat 1.8T with an APR chip). I made the jump from an Infiniti G37x sedan (300+ HP) to my CX-3 and I really miss the power and torque.

If she had a 2.Slow then I don't know what to tell you since those engines only made 115 HP and 122 lb-ft (read: less than the 2.0L SkyActiv in the USDM CX-3).

2016 CX-3 GT iAS AWD, Soul Red Metallic on black