Add Sat Nav to a Sport? - Mazda CX3 Forum
User Tag List

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By ghmpm
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 09-25-2018, 08:23 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Add Sat Nav to a Sport?

Folks,
I believe it is possible to add Sat Nav software to a Sport by way of a Mazda SD card. The Sport does not come standard with SatNav.
I'm hearing from one dealer....500 bucks. All dealers refer to "yes it can be done via an SD card".

Has anyone done this? I'm assuming it works fine? How much did you pay?

Thanks
iceflow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-25-2018, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
PandaG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceflow View Post
Folks,
I believe it is possible to add Sat Nav software to a Sport by way of a Mazda SD card. The Sport does not come standard with SatNav.
I'm hearing from one dealer....500 bucks. All dealers refer to "yes it can be done via an SD card".

Has anyone done this? I'm assuming it works fine? How much did you pay?

Thanks
I got mine on Ebay. I paid CAD$150 at the time but I see some there now for about CAD$129 (US/CAN/Mex)
Works just fine and did updates with no issues.

Just make sure you get the right card for your region and that it comes with the 3 year free updates

2018 Mazda CX3-GS, Lux + iActiveSense Pkgs. Eternal Blue Mica.
PandaG is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-26-2018, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
ghmpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Wickenburg, AZ
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Latest-2018...8AAOSwqIhbokLf

Look at this one.
PandaG likes this.

Glenn

DEEP CRYSTAL BLUE
2016 CX 3 Grand Touring AWD

Wickenburg, AZ
ghmpm is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-26-2018, 02:42 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Is this Sat Nav like a phone GPS? Is it voice directed and can gather traffic jam info and suggest alternate routes?.....or....is it a library of routes on a chip? I'm assuming it has to be the former otherwise it would be useless at giving turn by turn direction?

Thanks for the link, I'll take a look.

Thanks
iceflow is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-27-2018, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
PandaG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceflow View Post
Is this Sat Nav like a phone GPS? Is it voice directed and can gather traffic jam info and suggest alternate routes?.....or....is it a library of routes on a chip? I'm assuming it has to be the former otherwise it would be useless at giving turn by turn direction?

Thanks for the link, I'll take a look.

Thanks
These work just like a normal GPS on any car. Voice turn by turn and visual cues on the screen and HUD (if you have one installed). Not sure about traffic jams but, where I live, the jams occur daily like clockwork so I don't even need it lol.
At the price Ebay is selling it for it's well worth it. You get it, plug it into the SD slot, turn the car on, let it boot up, and away you go.
The SD card stays in the slot and only needs to be taken out to plug into a computer when updating.

2018 Mazda CX3-GS, Lux + iActiveSense Pkgs. Eternal Blue Mica.
PandaG is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-27-2018, 05:35 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PandaG View Post
These work just like a normal GPS on any car. Voice turn by turn and visual cues on the screen and HUD (if you have one installed). Not sure about traffic jams but, where I live, the jams occur daily like clockwork so I don't even need it lol.
At the price Ebay is selling it for it's well worth it. You get it, plug it into the SD slot, turn the car on, let it boot up, and away you go.
The SD card stays in the slot and only needs to be taken out to plug into a computer when updating.
Got it thanks. I'll try the EBay route as it looks like a number of folks have purchased from there and have been happy. Price definitely is way less than local dealer. Thanks for the info.
iceflow is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome