Wiring through firewall for amp - Mazda CX3 Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2016, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Wiring through firewall for amp

Hey guys,

picked up my new 2016 cx3 last week and loving it.
australian models do not get the 7 speaker bose system.

i would like to install an amp+sub, i had a good 30min look but cant seem to find where to route the power cable from battery.

does anyone have experience on power routing through the firewall? id like to avoid drilling a hole if possible.

cheers
werks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-04-2016, 12:43 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
I don't have any real experience in this but might be able to point you in the right direction.

I was pulling apart my interior yesterday around the fuse-box in the left side foot well and would suggest this is the first place to look. There appears to be a pretty substantial bundle of cables that runs underneath the plastic trim in the bottom of the door frame all the way from the front of the car to the rear. Simply pull up on the top piece of plastic trim on the bottom of the frame to access the cables.

My first thought would be to follow this bundle of wires and the wires from the fuse panel forward towards the engine bay, I can only assume you will find an entry point there
jordanwallace is offline  
Old 07-05-2016, 02:08 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
thank you, i had a feeling thats where the main wiring harness passes through.

only problem is, the a/c blower is behind the glove box blocking the view.
ill take it out on the weekend to have look
werks is offline  
 
Old 07-05-2016, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by werks View Post
thank you, i had a feeling thats where the main wiring harness passes through.

only problem is, the a/c blower is behind the glove box blocking the view.
ill take it out on the weekend to have look
I'd certainly be interested in hearing what you find werks.

Last edited by Levi3xt; 07-06-2016 at 11:16 AM.
Levi3xt is offline  
Old 07-05-2016, 12:37 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
i removed the battery and battery tray.
there is a big grommet where the main wire harness passes through.

the grommet is in an awkward position, almost behind the strut tower, with little space to work with.
i punched a hole through the grommet with a screwdriver. it came through into the cabin, but the a/c blower is blocking it. there is only about 1cm of clearance.

i had trouble feeding the wire through with the blower in the way. if the blower is removed, it will be much easier to get the wire through.

but it looks like removing the blower will be a bit difficult.
werks is offline  
Old 07-06-2016, 11:42 AM
Senior Member
 
sippffo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Dee Why Sydney, Australia (pronounced Straya)
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Garage
Thumbs up Re Install

Good to see others like myself also wanting to Install a Powered Sub, one more point for consideration is, where are you going to Tap into Speaker Wires for a High Level Input, and also what Colours are these Wires, and don't forget you will need a Trigger Wire also to tell the Unit when to turn on and off.
Just a thought as I have just put a Fusion CP-AW1122 (1500w) Enclosure between the Two Front Seats in my Mercedes Sprinter Work Van, that is some serious Bass, enough to make your eye balls vibrate.
Plenty of room in a van, but also thinking of this Install in my Car as well.

[email protected] Why

Life Is Too Short, Get Out And Do It, Rock Out And Send It Hard
sippffo is online now  
Old 07-10-2016, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Thanks for your reply werks. You are so right ....there's not much room at all.
Levi3xt is offline  
Old 07-12-2016, 09:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Craigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Have a look at the pdf I posted on this page

http://www.cx3forum.com/forum/mazda-...i-today-5.html

It outlines fitting front parking sensors and shows where there are points to go through the firewall for them.

If you don't have sensors you could use these or add some more if needed.

2015 CX3 Akari - 2.0 Petrol AWD

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mods: Pedal Kit, Hood Insulator, Boot Liner, Front Parking Sensors, 40% Tint, Paddle Shifts, USB to Glovebox..Console, Infotainment Tweaks......

Last edited by Craigh; 07-12-2016 at 09:58 AM.
Craigh is offline  
 
Thread Tools



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome