2019 - Hard wire dash cam? - Mazda CX3 Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 05-31-2019, 01:46 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
2019 - Hard wire dash cam?

So this past weekend I went to install the dash cam, even though the car was already hit in a parking lot on day 29.

Got everything wired up, but when it came to hard wiring the fuse panel the add a circuit taps won't fit.. they barely stay in the fuse slots but even if they stay in you can't put the cover back on. Talk about a compact car!

Has anyone hard wired a dash cam recently? Most of the threads here are about an older generation CX-3 and maybe had more room in the fuse panel, not sure.

The graphics in this thread (https://www.cx3forum.com/forum/142777-post9.html) show a different wiring point that might still be able to be used? I don't know how I feel about tapping wires and not using the add a fuse though.

19 CX-3 GT Deep Blue | Rokblokz Mud Flaps | XPEL Front Wrap
Rykop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 05-31-2019, 01:53 PM
Member
 
Zechariah936's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: South Africa
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Hi Rykop,

Correct, it is a tight fit, but it does fit.

I've done mine, used anchorman's info from his install.
Make sure you are using the low profile fuse tap. it's snug but it fit in, and the cover fits on just fine. However I also placed some electrical tape over it to hold it in place.

I've done this in my 2016 model (reverse cam and dash cam combo with picture in picture mode) so it doesn't have anything to with the MZD connect screen, and also helped a friend do it in his 2019.

Godspeed.

2016 Cx-3, 2.0L petrol, manual transmission. South Africa.
Zechariah936 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 05-31-2019, 06:31 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Yeah like I said though, seems though maybe they changed the fuse box a little bit since then... the cover literally does not fit if the fuses are installed.

19 CX-3 GT Deep Blue | Rokblokz Mud Flaps | XPEL Front Wrap
Rykop is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 06-01-2019, 04:35 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Maybe you should run a fused positive off the battery through a grommet in the firewall to power it, you will have more room there. They sell tap/adapters that go on the battery terminal...inside the vehicles using the fuse box would be a shorter run, if that is important.
jcy110 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome